Who we are

TEAM 2017

OpenWheatBlast is a collaboration between scientists from The Sainsbury Laboratory led by Sophien Kamoun, University of Exeter  led by Nick Talbot, Platforms and Pipelines Group from Earlham Institute led by Daniel Swann, and Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University led by Tofazzal Islam.

Emilie Chanclud, Thorsten Langner, Adeline Harant, Claudia Reyes-Avila, Joe Win,  and Sophien Kamoun – The Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich Research Park, Norwich, UK

Tofazzal_and_teamTofazzal Islam, Pallab Bhattacharjee, Ashifur Rahman Shawon, and Shaid Hossain – Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University, Bangladesh

Lauren Ryder, Darren Soanes, and Nick Talbot, Exeter Biosciences, University of Exeter, Exeter, UK

Leah Clissold, Victoria Goody, and Daniel Swan – Platforms and Pipelines Group, Earlham Institute, Norwich, UK

Dan MacLean, Martin Page, and Ram Krishna Shrestha – Bioinformatics Group, TSL

Paul Fretter, Chris Bridson, Adam Carrgilson, Michael Burrell, Sam Gallop – Computing Infrastructure for Science, Norwich Biosciences Institute, UK


Team 2016


Tofazzal alerted about wheat blast in Bangladesh and called for action on 8th March 2016. His team went on to collect infected samples directly from wheat fields. These samples were then fast-tracked for RNA sequencing at TGAC.